2012 – Week 8

Its good to squeeze as much fun as possible out of the week.  Despite it being a standard working week I had a pretty good time.

On Monday night a group of 17 colleagues went to The Raceway go-kart track in Greenwich.  I came in 10th but as I was one of the oldest and heaviest I took it as a victory!!  It was incredibly physical.  Hands and arms ached at the end.  I had to peal my fingers off the steering wheel.

Thursday bought a departmental away-day.  OK there were the usual platitudes and a bit of ra-ra but on the whole we had a laugh (and a good lunch).  In the evening I joined a crowd from the IT department at the Henry Addington, a pub in Canary Wharf  where I probably had one beer too many!

This weekend was our termly trip up to see our boys at the University of Warwick and St Annes College, Oxford.  Good to see them both doing so well.  It was interesting to see the Mathematician helping the Computer Scientist solve a problem (due for submission the next day!) on a whiteboard…. it all went way over my head!!

A couple of places to recommend:-

The Fat Birds Cafe in Leamington Spa…check out the hot chocolate.Hot Chocolate at the Fat Birds Cafe

The Rose and Crown in Warwick – great service and great food…but get there early for lunch as it gets full.

York House – most friendly B&B in Leamington Spa

When Matt graduates this summer I will miss our trips to Warwick and Leamington.  But Bath beckons when he starts his job.

 

Leave a Reply

